God Friended Me: Season 1 - TV Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

God Friended Me: Season 1 Reviews

October 11, 2018
Maybe it's Touched by an Angel 2.0: Poked by a Deity.
October 3, 2018
It [does not] matter that the show is very badly made drama. What matters is that it puts God back on prime-time TV. That makes good business sense and it's politically savvy.
October 2, 2018
If the series continues to zero in on the contradictions that life throws at Miles and how he tries to square them with his own established belief system, it could be one of the fall's more pleasant, unexpected surprises.
October 1, 2018
With its shiny, colorful exteriors and bathed-in-light church sequences, there's a glossy sheen to much of God Friended Me. The test going forward is if it's willing to dig beneath it.
Full Review | Original Score: C
October 1, 2018
God Friended Me does very little to adapt the formula to how regular people use social media or religion in the modern world.
September 30, 2018
Like the show's interludes of theological discourse, its moments of regret and redemption are made to be easy to grasp and digest in the context of a Sunday night, broadcast network, mostly-family-friendly comic drama.
Top Critic
September 28, 2018
Setting aside a glib and emotionally manipulative launch, of all the This Is Us wannabes (Manifest, A Million Little Things, New Amsterdam) in the 2018 fall lineup, God Friended Me may stand the best chance of success.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
September 28, 2018
Like most programs that brave tackling religion, God Friended Me handles those questions in a light but respectful manner, clearly aware of the material's thorny nature.
September 28, 2018
A sweet, surprisingly watchable series that essentially gives "Joan of Arcadia" a Silicon Valley tuneup.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
September 26, 2018
If God Friended Me can convince viewers to get past its premise and develop the wholehearted drama fueling it, the series just might find its way.
September 24, 2018
What can I tell viewers who draw great enjoyment from something so simple, delighting in this show's pseudo-spiritual cheerfulness and utterly predictable premise?
September 21, 2018
Based on the title alone, I was fully prepared to despise this show. But it's actually a bit of alright for a network spin on religious querying... Yes, it's all hokey, and yet the premiere holds some promise as a thoughtful feel-good drama.