God Friended Me: Season 1 Reviews

Page 1 of 2
September 28, 2018
God Friended Me is a heartwarming series that falls flat on the execution. But if it can learn to laugh at itself and stick to simplicity, it just might stand a chance at survival.
Full Review | Original Score: 60/100
October 1, 2018
With its shiny, colorful exteriors and bathed-in-light church sequences, there's a glossy sheen to much of God Friended Me. The test going forward is if it's willing to dig beneath it.
Full Review | Original Score: C
October 11, 2018
Maybe it's Touched by an Angel 2.0: Poked by a Deity.
November 24, 2018
The show's intentions are clear but the plot doesn't give the characters enough room to grow into fully-realized individuals.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
October 1, 2018
Despite fine performances, the hokey premise won't wear well through an entire season.
October 2, 2018
One day, the instantly likable, impeccably charming Brandon Michael Hall will land a series worthy of him. God Friended Me is not that series.
September 28, 2018
God Friended Me features celestial creatures messing about in the lives of ordinary citizens, with results better than might be expected in real life... but not necessarily constituting interesting television.
October 1, 2018
God Friended Me does very little to adapt the formula to how regular people use social media or religion in the modern world.
September 24, 2018
What can I tell viewers who draw great enjoyment from something so simple, delighting in this show's pseudo-spiritual cheerfulness and utterly predictable premise?
October 1, 2018
At the risk of being smited, I have to say God is one pushy almighty.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
October 3, 2018
It [does not] matter that the show is very badly made drama. What matters is that it puts God back on prime-time TV. That makes good business sense and it's politically savvy.
October 1, 2018
It's a comical twist -- one that we open with welcome arms.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
October 1, 2018
It's definitely not the worst drama you could find on network TV, and Hall is a likable, charismatic actor. Give it a one-episode trial and see how you feel.
September 30, 2018
What you may think is a preachy, cheesy drama about religion is actually still very cheesy at times, but it is a rather thoughtful, easygoing attempt at digging into what brings us all together.
October 1, 2018
Let's face it, it is hard to make television about God, but "God Friended Me" takes a laid-back approach with characters who follow their curiosity to discoveries that inspire but don't overdo it. I enjoyed the pilot.
August 31, 2018
The story behind the idea of getting a Facebook friend request from God is actually a pretty cool concept.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
September 28, 2018
A sweet, surprisingly watchable series that essentially gives "Joan of Arcadia" a Silicon Valley tuneup.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
September 28, 2018
There are worst premises for a show -- and I actually welcome a little kindness and positivity. But I still wish they'd change the title.
September 27, 2018
It's earnest and cheesy and a little stupid, which turns out to be the right approach.
Top Critic
September 28, 2018
Setting aside a glib and emotionally manipulative launch, of all the This Is Us wannabes (Manifest, A Million Little Things, New Amsterdam) in the 2018 fall lineup, God Friended Me may stand the best chance of success.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Page 1 of 2