God Friended Me: Season 1 Reviews

Page 1 of 2
October 3, 2018
Sweet, wholesome drama about faith and charity.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
October 2, 2018
If the series continues to zero in on the contradictions that life throws at Miles and how he tries to square them with his own established belief system, it could be one of the fall's more pleasant, unexpected surprises.
October 1, 2018
It's a comical twist -- one that we open with welcome arms.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
October 1, 2018
Let's face it, it is hard to make television about God, but "God Friended Me" takes a laid-back approach with characters who follow their curiosity to discoveries that inspire but don't overdo it. I enjoyed the pilot.
October 1, 2018
It's definitely not the worst drama you could find on network TV, and Hall is a likable, charismatic actor. Give it a one-episode trial and see how you feel.
September 30, 2018
Like the show's interludes of theological discourse, its moments of regret and redemption are made to be easy to grasp and digest in the context of a Sunday night, broadcast network, mostly-family-friendly comic drama.
September 30, 2018
What you may think is a preachy, cheesy drama about religion is actually still very cheesy at times, but it is a rather thoughtful, easygoing attempt at digging into what brings us all together.
September 28, 2018
There are worst premises for a show -- and I actually welcome a little kindness and positivity. But I still wish they'd change the title.
Top Critic
September 28, 2018
Setting aside a glib and emotionally manipulative launch, of all the This Is Us wannabes (Manifest, A Million Little Things, New Amsterdam) in the 2018 fall lineup, God Friended Me may stand the best chance of success.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
September 28, 2018
Like most programs that brave tackling religion, God Friended Me handles those questions in a light but respectful manner, clearly aware of the material's thorny nature.
September 28, 2018
A sweet, surprisingly watchable series that essentially gives "Joan of Arcadia" a Silicon Valley tuneup.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
September 27, 2018
It's earnest and cheesy and a little stupid, which turns out to be the right approach.
September 26, 2018
If God Friended Me can convince viewers to get past its premise and develop the wholehearted drama fueling it, the series just might find its way.
September 21, 2018
Based on the title alone, I was fully prepared to despise this show. But it's actually a bit of alright for a network spin on religious querying... Yes, it's all hokey, and yet the premiere holds some promise as a thoughtful feel-good drama.
August 31, 2018
The story behind the idea of getting a Facebook friend request from God is actually a pretty cool concept.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
November 24, 2018
The show's intentions are clear but the plot doesn't give the characters enough room to grow into fully-realized individuals.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
October 11, 2018
Maybe it's Touched by an Angel 2.0: Poked by a Deity.
October 3, 2018
It [does not] matter that the show is very badly made drama. What matters is that it puts God back on prime-time TV. That makes good business sense and it's politically savvy.
October 2, 2018
One day, the instantly likable, impeccably charming Brandon Michael Hall will land a series worthy of him. God Friended Me is not that series.
October 1, 2018
With its shiny, colorful exteriors and bathed-in-light church sequences, there's a glossy sheen to much of God Friended Me. The test going forward is if it's willing to dig beneath it.
Full Review | Original Score: C
Page 1 of 2