Doctor Who: Season 11 Reviews

Page 1 of 114
½ December 14, 2018
Overall a pretty terrible Season of Doctor Who.. I was hopeful going into it, thinking that it could be interesting, if done well, a female Doctor.. But alas it was very disappointing. I watched most episodes hoping it would all get better, but no, it didn't. Finally ending on a fizz, which left most people thinking about the time wasted watching it.

The characters, while large in number, aren't really very interesting in themselves. Incredible to think that this is what Doctor who has become.

When showing other people of this monstrosity of a season, I could get what happens throughout the entire episode by skipping a fair amount of stuff out.

Please make Doctor who better, for everyone who was enjoying it before all this politically correct rubbish happened. I was keen for a female Doctor.
½
½ December 14, 2018
It is a refreshing new direction for the show. It lacks a story arch at this point but it is understandable why. They want new viewers who are not familiar with previous doctors. It has stayed quite true to the style of Doctor Who and Jodie Whittaker is a delight.
December 14, 2018
I have been a fan of Doctor Who almost my entire life, and a big fan, I should add. Unfortunately, this series has turned me from a Doctor Who fan to a Doctor Who skeptic. I love this show, I really do. And I have tried so, so hard to love this series. At first, I gave it the benefit of the doubt, writing off my criticisms as nit-picks. But as the series continued, it became more and more obvious how much of a disaster it is. The main problem, for me at least, is the scriptwriting. The stories are boring, the dialogue is awful, and the lack of any overarching storyline makes each episode feel pointless. Whittaker is... fine. (To clarify here, I have zero problems with a female Doctor and think it's a fantastic idea.) Unfortunately, when you compare her with her predecessors, and the amazing acting chops of Tennant, Capaldi, Smith and Eccleston (not to mention the classic Doctors), she really isn't that great. She seems clueless at times and does not come across as threatening at all. I'm struggling to see The Oncoming Storm in her performance. Ryan has one emotion. I don't even know why Yaz is there. Graham is the most interesting part of the show. Not to mention the undeniable PC agenda spread throughout a lot of the stories (I think some people have blown it out of proportion, but it's definitely there).
I really wanted to love this series. I honestly did. But it's a mess. And it hurts even more to see my favourite show taken over by people who clearly have no idea what they're doing. Unless something seriously changes in season 12, I think I'll be sticking to the first 10 seasons of Doctor Who.
December 13, 2018
I first stopped watching doctor who when Matt Smith and Moffats era began, i couldn't get used to the change as i adored tenant in the role and loved the stories under Davies. As i got older however i re-watched the whole series and found a strong appreciation for Matt Smith and Capaldi although moffats writing did become lack luster towards the end of smiths time and very poor during Capaldi's. Even with the poor writing it still felt like Doctor Who i always felt like I was watching the Doctor and this is the key element missing from season 11 i dont feel like im ever watching doctor who!!! I'm not against a female doctor in fact i was looking forward to a female doctor hoping it would breath some new life into a show i loved that had gone somewhat stale. However it got even worse!! the first few episodes i enjoyed except rosa which was a very boring episode for me but as the series went on and the companions stayed the same boring underdeveloped characters they were in the first few episodes i got worried and really started to dislike the show. The doctor for me is the worst part i can deal with a boring companion and bad writing but the doctor has to be brilliant if so and Whittaker is not brilliant she is boring and not suited for the role. Not once have i ever felt like i was watching the doctor. I will be skipping season 12. This season is a boring, poorly written, poorly acted, poorly directed, political agenda filled mess that should never have been made. To all those critics giving this a high you should probably look for a new job. Chibnall do us all a favor and step down as show runner and the BBC give the job to someone who can actually write doctor who.
½ December 13, 2018
ONE AND A HALF STAR JUST TO IT TO COUNT IN THE SCORE, IF POSSIBLE I WOULD GIVE IT -5 STARS.
THE NEW SHOW IS BORING AND THE NEW DOCTOR DOESN'T MAKE ANY MATHEMATICAL SENSE:

AS FAR AS WE KNOW, THERE IS NOTHING IN THE DOCTOR WHO SERIES THAT SAYS THAT EVERY TIME LORD CAN CHANGE SEX WHEN REGENERATING. ASSUMING THAT NOT CHANGING SEX, OUR HYPOTHESES H, IS A VERY RARE CONDITION, MUCH MORE RARE THAN HUMAN TRANSSEXUALISM LET?S SAY A TIME LORD HAS A PROBABILITY OF NOT CHANGING SEX OF P(H)_0 = 0,00001, A VERY SMALL PROBABILITY, COMPARABLE TO VERY, VERY RARE CONDITIONS IN HUMANS.

BE E_N AN EVENT WERE THE TIME LORD HAS REGENERATED N TIMES INTO THE SAME SEX, MALE AS AN EXAMPLE: E_N = {M, M, ..., M} N TIMES. P(H|E_N) IS THE PROBABILITY OF OUR HYPOTHESES BEING TRUE AFTER THE EVENT EN OCCURRED. BEING P(H)_N THE PROBABILITY OF THE HYPOTHESES BEING TRUE AFTER N OBSERVATIONS, BY BAYES LAW, WE HAVE:
P(H)_N ~ P(H|E_N) = P(E_N|H) X P(H) / P(E_N) (1)

SINCE:
P(E_N) = P(H) * P(E_N|H) + P(-H) * P(E_N|-H) (2)

THEN FROM (1) AND (2):
P(H)_N ~ P(H|E_N) = P(E_N|H) X P(H) / [P(H) * P(E_N|H) + P(-H) * P(E_N|-H)] (3)

P(E_N|H) IS THE PROBABILITY OF THE EVENT ?REGENERATE N TIMES TO THE SAME SEX?, BEING TRUE IF OUR HYPOTHESES ?DON?T BE ABLE TO CHANGE SEX? IS TRUE. OBVIOUSLY P(E_N|H) = 1, THEN FROM (3):
P(H)_N ~ P(H) / [P(H) + (1 - P(H)) * P(E_N|-H)] (4)

ASSUMING A NORMAL TIME LORD HAS A 50% (1/2) CHANCE TO REGENERATE IN EITHER SEX, A FAIR ASSUMPTION, IF YOU ARE NOT SEXIST. USING BASIC COUNTING AND PROBABILITY, WE HAVE:
P(E_N|-H) = 1/2^N = 2^-N (5)

THEN, FROM (4) AND (5):
P(H)_N ~ P(H) / [P(H) + (1 - P(H)) * 2^-N] (6)

GENERALIZING (6):
P(H)_N ~ P(H)_N-1 / [P(H)_N-1 + (1 - P(H)_N-1) * 2^-N] (7)

AS P(H)_0 = 0,00001 IS OUR, VERY CONSERVATIVE, ASSUMPTION OF THE OCCURRENCE OF THE HYPOTHESES, WE CAN ITERATE ITS VALUE IN (7), USING A COMPUTER:

P(H)_1 = 0,00001999980000199998
P(H)_2 = 0,00007999440039197258
P(H)_3 = 0,0006395970538560709
P(H)_4 = 0,010136305593775678
P(H)_5 = 0,24680831833211572
P(H)_6 = 0,9544869697166922
P(H)_7 = 0,9996276134188687
P(H)_8 = 0,9999985448251466
P(H)_9 = 0,9999999971578575
P(H)_10 = 0,9999999999972244
P(H)_11 = 0,9999999999999987
P(H)_12 = 1,0

THEN YOU HAVE IT, A SCIENTIFIC REASONING THAT PROVES THAT AFTER REGENERATING 12 TIMES INTO MALE, THE DOCTOR IS 100% INCAPABLE OF CHANGING SEX TO FEMALE.

YEAH! MATH, BITCH!

THE SMALLER IS THE FIRST PROBABILITY ASSUMPTION, MORE CAPABLE IS THE DOCTOR OF CHANGING SEX. BUT EVEN WHEN YOU ASSUME IT BEING P(H)_0 = 0.0000000001 = 10^-10. AN ULTRA SMALL VALUE AND TAKE INTO ACCOUNT THE WAR DOCTOR, YOU WILL GET:

P(H)_0 = 0,0000000001
P(H)_1 = 0,00000000019999999998
P(H)_2 = 0,0000000007999999994399999
P(H)_3 = 0,0000000063999999596799994
P(H)_4 = 0,00000010239998952448107
P(H)_5 = 0,0000032767892629446216
P(H)_6 = 0,00020967122877728982
P(H)_7 = 0,02614180681919668
P(H)_8 = 0,8729666352754878
P(H)_9 = 0,9997158636621287
P(H)_10 = 0,9999997224443209
P(H)_11 = 0,9999999998644747
P(H)_12 = 0,9999999999999669
P(H)_13 = 1,0
½ December 13, 2018
All those magnificent "pro critics" managed to put their score at 94%. Go buy yourself some knowledge please, this show is nothing like Doctor Who. The writing is so bad I can't even tell if Whittaker is fit for the role because she doesn't have any material to work with ! Chibnall, you don't want to be there, we don't want you there. Out of ideas for the Christmas Special ? You never ever even made one, you sorry excuse for a showrunner. Bug off and leave the job to someone who actually wants to work.
December 13, 2018
Sorry, I fell asleep. But I decided to give it one star because "The Woman Who Fell to Earth" reminded me to schedule my overdue Dental appointment ??
½
½ December 13, 2018
ridiculous
½
½ December 13, 2018
It has been a terrible season. Turning the doctor into a female was either going to be very right or very wrong. Sadly they managed to get it very wrong. The character has turned from a knowledgable eccentric powerful timelord, into a nicey nicey all inclusive political correct, cringey, nagging, do gooder with no substance. the problem also lies with the writing of the new season, the storylines have been weak and forgettable. Chris chibnalll has basically taken doctor who and tottally thrown the last 13 years of story out of the window in order to show off his equality credentials. The sweeping changes, including new music style, new writing style, focus on character interaction rather than story and refusal to tap into nostalgia, all dropped at once, have shaken the very core of what was once my favourite television series.
December 13, 2018
When I first heard that Jodi Whittaker was going to be the new Doctor, I was beyond excited over it. I loved her work in Broadchurch. Add to that the fact that Chris Chibnall was slated as show runner, and it seemed like the perfect recipe for a magnificent season of Doctor Who.

This is why this season has been such an unbelievable disappointment. Whittaker is a very good actress, but for some reason seems to have lost all her chops. It is most likely due to the utterly horrible scrips with which she is having to work.

The rest of the cast is okay, but as a trio of companions, they almost become a distraction.

Chibnall's refusal to include any kind of strong, long term story arc is a horrible mistake, particularly when you consider the one-off episodes are so lackluster.

What you end up with is not the rollercoaster fun ride that used to characterize the great stories of past years, but rather a boring slow merry go round of virtue signaling and social awareness lessons. To make matters worse, the musical scoring does nothing but add to the blandness of the show.

What a shame. I sure hope they haven't killed the show, because I think it is possible that they have.
½ December 13, 2018
Woke crap !
December 13, 2018
My favorite season in a long time. Jodie killed it!
Page 1 of 114