Doctor Who: Season 11 - TV Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Doctor Who: Season 11 Reviews

Page 1 of 2
October 19, 2018
The stories are firmly anchored in the character's offbeat sense of humour, although the comedy doesn't always land and Whittaker's breathless zeal can grate sometimes.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
October 16, 2018
I have respect for Steven Moffatt's sublime stint and I loved both Tennant and Capaldi and their clevernesses, but I think new writer Chris Chibnall has, by hauling ass back to basics, given us all a timely, hugely refreshing, gasp of air.
October 15, 2018
Happily, they made it work, creating a properly modern Doctor without losing the madcap energy and behind-the-sofa shocks that form the show's two Gallifreyan-style hearts.
October 15, 2018
In short, my latest attempt to like Doctor Who failed, but it has failed worse in the past, if that's any consolation, and I was quite taken with Carl, the crane driver and his self-help tapes.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
October 12, 2018
Whittaker is perfectly cast, and her immediate command of The Doctor's vocabulary and innate sense of wit is obvious.
October 12, 2018
Along with a new Doctor, indeed, we have a new showrunner, with Chris Chibnall having taken over from Steven Moffat. The tone was still recognisably New Whovian...but everything still felt new and light.
October 11, 2018
[Whittaker] adds a sense of melancholy to the Doctor that comes through in her rare moments of softness and counsel; I expect it will be her own contribution to the tapestry of the Doctor Who universe.
October 10, 2018
I'm now too old for the Time Lord's adventures; a great weariness came upon me as she explained her sonic screwdriver to her charisma-free new pals... But still, I couldn't be more glad that the Doctor is at last a girl.
October 10, 2018
While this first adventure for Ryan, Graham, and Yaz is lacking in the fun sci-fi adventure department, the dynamics of the characters work well so far, and the Doctor herself is already on her way to joining the ranks of fantastic Doctors.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
October 8, 2018
Jodie Whittaker (Broadchurch) is a brilliant choice, and a delightful fit, in writer Chris Chibnal's exhilarating new take on the impulsive world and time traveler.
October 8, 2018
Whittaker's Doctor has arrived. She's not just made her mark, as each Doctor does, but she's raised the bar. And she's brilliant, just brilliant.
October 8, 2018
Chibnall and Whittaker look like they've got a perfectly good handle on this one. We can't wait to see what they add to this character's long and colorful history.
October 8, 2018
It's the show it's always been, only now there's better representation (there's still work to be done, but this is a much-needed step in the right direction) and fewer Daleks.
October 8, 2018
[Whittaker] nails the character and immediately re-energizes a series that was in danger of disappearing into its own black hole.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
October 8, 2018
It's one thing to carry the pressure (and "political correctness gone mad" flak) of being the first female Doctor, another to look natural in the role within minutes.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
October 8, 2018
In short, it's the same old, brand new Doctor Who, and even if it's not what you want, it's exactly what we need. Wonderful stuff.
October 8, 2018
It's no easy feat to imbue a series as established Doctor Who with a new energy while still retaining its unique charm, but that's exactly what showrunner Chris Chibnall and his team pull off.
October 7, 2018
Doctor Who returns, and at the same time, reinvents itself in a way never before seen. The 13th regeneration is much more than a pretty female face, although its start is imperfect.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
October 7, 2018
Whittaker's deft, frenetic, confident performance speaks for itself. Within minutes she's made it clear that yes, being a woman suits the Doctor just fine.
October 7, 2018
Jodie Whittaker's Doctoral debut sticks the landing.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Page 1 of 2