Fantastic Beasts: The Crimes of Grindelwald - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Fantastic Beasts: The Crimes of Grindelwald Reviews

Page 1 of 32
November 17, 2018
I thought it was amazing. I was shocked at the end
because I thought it still had time left.
Loved every moment, never felt like it dragged.
November 17, 2018
One of the best movies I've ever seen the surprise ending was amazing, I can see how people who don't know much about Harry Potter wouldn't like it because it was full of Easter eggs and references
½ November 17, 2018
Sad how boring and bad the story agonized myself and viewing party. Actors and special effects did best they could with garbage lazy writing.
November 17, 2018
I love Harry Potter but this was so bad it made me fall asleep at 5pm in the cinema.
½ November 17, 2018
Sometimes you just have to go to war with the critics for the sin of missing the point. Grindelwald is a bridge and exposition of what comes next. It was necessary to set up the characters for what comes next except that seeing them in your minds eye as if you were reading, the pictures are up on the screen in all their glory. Sure lots of special effects are in there for the young folk but they are enjoyable and I'm ready for book three ... just think of this film as the Two Towers in the middle of the Lord of the Rings trilogy and you will absolutely love it. Added plus, the acting is great!!!
November 17, 2018
Five things I liked:
- The film as a whole was more enjoyable as expected
- The beasts! They're still far and away the best bit. Kelpies, Nifflers, etc. Great stuff
- I still got a tingling feeling when Hogwarts appeared for the first time
- You can't fault the amount of work, design and craftsmanship that goes into these films
- It's very clearly positioned as a part 2 of 5 but works very well as that because it developed what happened in the first one and made me want to see what happens next.

Five things I wasn't so sure about:
- I'm still not sold on Johnny Depp. He's less distracting than in the first one but still
- Certain liberties with magic - big stuff happened where you're questioning how nobody's noticed this stuff? Is the actual hidden from Muggles? Hmm
- There's a LOT of exposition, which made me feel like this should maybe have been a book first that they could have then adapted. At times the film feels like an adaptation of a book that doesn't exist yet
- Why does everyone wear Muggle clothes all the time? Did witches and wizards never do robes in the 20s? Especially Dumbledore
- And McGonagall was teaching at Hogwarts in the 1910s?! Surely she's not that old

So there we go! A balanced view, and a film not without problems, but overall a good watch.
November 17, 2018
Actually a really good movie. Much better than the first Fantastic Beasts movie, this movie sets up more of the mystique of the history of this magical Potter world and sets up an interesting direction for the sequel!
½ November 17, 2018
Overall a great second movie in a 5 part fantastic beast sequel. Some moments seem rather unnecessary and dont line up, but likely to be foreshadowing what's coming in the next three films. This movie answered many questions that hardcore, detail driven fans had before, while opening up more doors for the future. Know JK it'd all tie in together once the series is complete, this is only the second ojt od five so far.
November 17, 2018
As someone who has only seen analysis videos of the Harry Potter movies on YouTube and not seen any other movies personally, I was pleasantly surprised with this movie. At times it seemed confusing, but that it likely due to my lack of personal knowledge. The score is fantastic when it counts, and the visuals were beautiful. Compared to other movies I have seen, the effects were well done. It was very interesting to see new and more "adult" elements of the magic world, which seems to be what this movie and the previous are focusing on. Even without watching the other movies, the plot was relatively easy to follow and engaging. The relationships between characters seemed well establish, but a couple things seemed sudden and forced. Particularly the scene with Queenie and her sudden allegiance and willingness to follow Grindelwald. Though, this can be easily explained away with Grindelwald's already established persuasiveness and the long history of the magic world and the rules set in place for wizards. There were fun little details throughout the movie showing the tallents of the people creating it, and the overall look of the movie was well polished. The casting was brilliant and all of the actors did a fantastic job of making me believe they were the characters. The creatures of the universe were very fun and entertaining to watch. For me personally, it has encouraged me to invest in the series and watch the other movies. Overall, it was an enjoyable movie to watch and it was exciting as my introduction to the wizarding world.
November 17, 2018
Thoroughly enjoyable movie even though it could have been less predictable at parts. Definitely the darkest Harry Potter movie by tone and a mind-opening instalment in the series. It gives greater information about Dumbledore's past and changes up the original groups dynamic from the first film. The twist at the end is a good one and necessary for the future 3 films.
November 17, 2018
An intricate sequel that builds up the Wizarding World and adds new layers to established characters and events. Some plot twists will drive Harry Potter fans nuts.
Super Reviewer
½ November 17, 2018
You could argue that a blockbuster movie in the Harry Potter universe taking its time and telling a somewhat complex story of family relations, unknown origins and he hunt for an evil wizard instead of delivering a by the numbers magic show is a good thing. That doesn't change that some parts during the first half of the film are bit hit and miss. The cast is not one of them, it works. Jude Law is a fantastic young Dumbledore, for example. The creatures are great too, making for some of the most wondrous moments, of course. The film shines during its gloomy and exciting finale though and ends with a major plot twists that will have Potter fans discussing until the next part comes out. That's this film's problem, in a few years it will be viewed as merely a transition piece to get to an even bigger film.
November 17, 2018
Too Michael bayish, it lacks The charm from the first and feels nothing like a movie in the potterverse. But very entertaining and fun.
November 17, 2018
Critics will be Critics. If, like me, you sought for more meaghty, wizarding magic than Harry Potter delivered, then this sets the benchmark as a worthy sequal to the 1st above average installment of JK's mind. Leaves me craving more!...
½ November 17, 2018
Está increíble... me dejó con las ganas saber qué es lo que sigue.
½ November 17, 2018
Not as good as the original Fantastic Beasts or the other Harry Potter films, but what make the Fantastic Beasts movies great is their unpredictability. We have not read any books before viewing, so any twists that this series have take us by surprise and keep us hooked. Good acting all round as well.
½ November 17, 2018
The Harry Potter Franchise has "jumped the shark." I love the Harry Potter movies, I loved the first Fantastic Beasts movie, I loved Newt Scamander and the young Dumbledore played by Jude Law. This movie was garbage. No flow. No fluidity. Desparity in continuity from the first movie to this one. Characters went against their nature in this movie. There was not a single thought or idea that was carried through from beginning to end and the whole thing felt unnatural. There were parts that should have had music to weave scenes and emotions together that were just "blah" because of awkward silence. This movie is like an episode of Lost, just something strange to make you come back to the theater to see what happens next. I have taken my family to our last vjewing of a Harry Potter film at the theater. They will have to make up for this in the next movie. Not hanging on the edge of my seat for that.
November 17, 2018
I love this FILM I thought it was exceptional
November 17, 2018
I saw this movie today and I have to say, it was disappointing.
The visuals were great, so was the acting. But when it comes to the plot it was going in 17 different directions and couldn't keep on a straight line for more than 10 minutes. If it focused more on one plot point and separated the rest into other movies it would have been much better. But with the fantastic visuals, it was still pleasing to watch. 3/5
½ November 17, 2018
Saw some ultra powerful wizards, huge spells, crazy monsters. Story could have build itself better, yet it has it's epic breath-taking scenes.
Page 1 of 32