Fantastic Beasts: The Crimes of Grindelwald - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Fantastic Beasts: The Crimes of Grindelwald Reviews

Page 1 of 10
November 17, 2018
It's a hot mess. The Crimes Of Grindelwald suffers from an excess of ideas but no solid narrative to hold them together. Easily the worst film of the franchise.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
November 17, 2018
I'm not going to say it's the worst movie I've ever seen; but it's very possibly the worst prequel - the new low-point for expository, minutiae-obsessed, continuity-porn, anti-narrative in the "Cinematic Universe" era of blockbuster film making.
Full Review | Original Score: 0.5
November 16, 2018
... nothing negates the fact that the crux of the film is located in a handful of key scenes and the last 30 minutes of the movie, making more than two-thirds of the picture noticeably superfluous.
November 16, 2018
Sadly, Crimes of Grindelwald does not work on its own merits. Fans of the franchise will still find an enjoyable adventure in their beloved Wizarding World.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
November 16, 2018
The story lumbers along without urgency, Yates and Rowling believing they've earned the audience's loyalty just by using the Harry Potter font in the titles
Full Review | Original Score: C-
November 16, 2018
Talented writer though she is, Rowling doesn't seem to be capable of cramming what would be a 900-page book into a 135-minute movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
November 16, 2018
This movie is the cinematic equivalent to reading Rowling's tiresome retcon tweets: trite, laboured, unnecessary, and sometimes even offensive.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/10
November 16, 2018
Rowling's script was the real problem here.
Full Review | Original Score: C
November 16, 2018
You don't feel the horror or the charisma. I love the Harry Potter universe and I wish I could recommend this film with greater enthusiasm. It's competent but not enchanting enough.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
November 16, 2018
At this point it just seems like the films are being made to cross off a list. [Full Review in Spanish]
November 16, 2018
...the real crime here is that we all deserve better...from this franchise, from J.K. Rowling, and just in general.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
November 16, 2018
There's little sense of what The Crimes of Grindelwald is about, and in trying to serve an ensemble while keeping an eye on the big picture, Rowling fails in crafting a narrative that is engaging, meaningful, or even just enjoyable.
November 16, 2018
I don't know what I saw. I didn't have the Rosetta Stone to understand this movie...
Full Review | Original Score: 2.8/5
November 16, 2018
It ties into the Harry Potter lore, and I think that's why I really enjoyed it. It's trying to tie the canon together...once again, I think it's confusing, but I liked the character of Newt...
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
November 16, 2018
Unnecessarily convoluted and dense... and there is a lot of people explaining the plot.
November 16, 2018
Fans of this series know where all these Fantastic Beasts films are heading and this film is an impressive and thrilling stepping stone to that end.
Full Review | Original Score: A
November 16, 2018
The visual effects are stunning, often overwhelming in the way they fill the screen with a series of eye-catching spectacles.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
November 16, 2018
...in the messy but often dazzling Fantastic Beasts: The Crimes of Grindelwald, Rowling rains down so much lore we may need a semester at Hogwarts to keep up.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
November 16, 2018
It should be Newt's story but they make it so much about all the side characters... it ends up being almost nobody's story.
November 16, 2018
It's trying hard to live up to epicness... You can't force epicness.
Page 1 of 10